Welcome to TechForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Which Linux operating system is best for me? Explain Why.?

Linux Discussion

Postby felicio » Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:34 pm

I am a beginner in Linux operating system. I don't know much about Linux OS. I just know that it is free. I want a Linux operating system that looks and feels like windows and supports all the windows programs. I am basically going to use it for school projects and homework. And I will play online games like agames.com etc.. I will also use it to see YouTube videos. Please explain why the operating system is good for me. I want a nice looking Linux operating system. I am going to install it on a desktop.

felicio

Postby sahale » Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:36 pm

Try Ubuntu - it's fast and absolutely easy to install. Tons of apps are available for free via Ubuntu Software Center.
sahale

Postby haji » Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:53 pm

"looks and feels like windows and supports all the windows programs"
Linux will not support all windows programs. May look like windows but Linux is a whole different type of operating system.

" for school projects and homework."
This will be ok using Libre Office just remember to save in microsoft format.
I have used PuppyLinux and ubuntu for university.

"Please explain why the operating system is good for me. I want a nice looking Linux operating system."
Linux will teach you how computers work and are good for programming.
You can make the desktop look how you want because there are 6 different windows managers, so you can look like a mac or windows or something totally different with no start menu or icons, just a right click for options.

You can do a frugal install or use the ubuntu wubi install file and you can have both windows and linux.
Because there are no licencing issues you can install on to a usb flash as well.
haji

Postby wyatt36 » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:10 pm

Ubuntu 12.1. Easy to install. Easy to use.
wyatt36

Postby ruodrik91 » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:12 pm