Welcome to TechForums.info!   

Advertisments:

What Film Should I Used For My Canon Ae-1?

Digital Cameras Discussion

Postby kevinbacon38 » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:41 am

I am VERY new to film photography. I want to know what kind of film I should get for this 35mm camera. I don't know if it's the film that gives it that 'vintage-y/film camera' effect, but if it is, please recommend the film that you think would do the best job at this. Also, what is the best black and white film? THANKS! Any other tips on film photography are HIGHLY appreciated.
kevinbacon38

Postby Kyu-Bok » Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:29 pm

Hey WASP! Cool camera! It's neat that you're going to put it back into use!

A couple things:

--The Canon AE-1 is a 35mm SLR, as you know.
So it requires 35mm film.
This is the format.
Film is also categorize by Brand, Process, Type or Model and ISO.
Process Type is important.
Currently there are C41, E6 and B&W.
If you are going to drop your film off for processing at the local consumer lab such as Target, Walmart, Walgreens, Rite Aide, Sam's Club, Costco, or CVS you will have to use a C41 film.
Other, professional labs take other process types of film too.
If you are processing at school, you are probably going to use B&W.

--If you are processing at a consumer lab, I suggest just using cheap film to start with so you can learn without blowing a ton of $$ and can afford to buy more film and processing.
After you've learned your way around the camera and want to move up to $7+ rolls of film, then you can do that later.
So for now Kodak 100, 200 and 400 as well as Fujicolor 200 and Fuji Superia 400 are the best films for you.
They only cost a few dollars a roll at BHPhoto.com and Adorama.com.
These are colour films.
If you want black and white but C41 process, you can buy Kodak bw400cn or Ilford XP2.

--If you are processing at school or other b&w darkroom, it's best to check with your teacher or lab tech as to what b&w's they want you to use.