Welcome to TechForums.info!   

Advertisments:

What Is Causing My Cloudy Fish Tank?

Windows 2000 and Earlier (Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows 95)

Postby Parfait » Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:10 pm

For the past 2 months my fish tank keeps becoming cloudy and it appears that the water is always turning green. help?

Its a 5 gallon tank.

I have 2 goldfish, 1 zebra barb and 1 black molly.

I also have a live water lily in the tank.

I recently had one dead fish almost 2 weeks ago but none of the rest seem to be ill.

Because of the lily and not having my tank near a window to get light i've been leaving the light on 24 hours but i've had the aquarium for almost a year and haven't had this problem before, so i'm not sure if its because of the light.

I'm only a beginner in keeping an aquarium so I'm not sure what i'm doing in regards to PH but i've been doing 25% water changes about once a month and I usually have to add about a quart of water a week. I use water conditioner anytime I add or change the water.

Can anyone help?
Parfait

Postby Stratford » Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:16 pm

Here's some tips.....

1. Never trust what a person at a pet store says about fish do your own research

2. 2 Goldfish need 55 or 100 gallons

3. goldfish are cold water fish and a zebra danio and mollie are are tropical they require 2 different things

4. 5 gallons are meant for betta fish and not mollies or goldfish

Do some more research next time and make sure its your own research it would be a miracle to find someone in a pet store to give true info about fish and proper ways of housing and such =/ and dont listen to the 1 inch rule
Stratford

Postby Udell » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:04 am

Long story short.....poor fish.. So let's see the damage done.

Goldfish stunted with crushed organs and excremeting without having their water changed enough

1 lonely black Molly stuffed into a filthy little aquarium with another equally skittish zebra barb..