Welcome to TechForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Using A Flash Off Camera?

Networking & Wireless Discussion

Postby Moren » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:36 pm

I have a Nikon D50. I am wanting to get a Nikon SB-700 as I have been told this would work well for me.

How do I use this flash ON camera? How do I take off the built in flash and put on the hot-shoe?

And, how do I use this flash OFF camera? Do I need to buy more equipment? What are my options and how much is it going to cost me? I'm a student, I only have about $500 to my name right now so I can't really afford anything really expensive. Just the flash itself will cost me just under 300..
Moren

Postby Kerry » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:38 am

I believe fhotoace is mostly right for once except that you can sync the shutter at any speed. That is a VERY desirable thing Blue is right about that.

Let me translate some of this.

The way I understand it is that the on camera flash of D50 cannot be used as a "master" flash unit and trigger the SB700 in a wireless fashion because it does not have the circuitry to communicate with the flash. Cameras such as the D90 and up can act as "master" flash units.

So you can trigger it if it is connected to your hotshoe. It can be sent signals from the cameras and automatically choose the flash power based on the exposure meter recommendations.

This will not work if the flash is used off camera.

That is why fhotoace is saying that you could have that functionality when you upgrade cameras. Newer cameras support those capabilities.

That is what fhotoace is saying essentially.

The SB700 itself can be used as a commander flash to trigger other flash units though.*

Even though you cannot trigger the SB700 with the on camera flash wirelessly you can trigger it if the on camera flash fires and the sensor on the SB700 is in the "line of sight." The on camera flash will fire, the light will hit the SB700 flash sensor and the flash will fire using any manual settings you have chosen.