Welcome to TechForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Go Back To School For Auto Mechanics Or Welding?

Email Software Discussion

Postby Llara » Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:33 pm

I'm 22 and I have an associate's degree in criminal justice. After much time spent and money invested, I cannot get a job in my career field so I want to go back for two areas that I enjoy. I either want to go back for auto mechanics or welding.
But I cannot decided which is more steady work and have jobs more readily available.

I figure that there will be more auto mechanic jobs, but with less pay and also a person would be easier to replace. I have heard that certified welders are hard to find so that would be a plus. But also I haven't seen many active welding jobs out there.

Can anyone give me a opinions and pros/cons?
Llara

Postby Girven » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:44 am

Automotive Mechanic Job Outlook
Girven

Postby Coleman » Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:01 pm

My opinion auto mechanics are one style of sector in which .. That you would be able to conveniently get the job. It can be learning system may be very easy. You are able to do any brief time period path in outside.
Coleman

Postby Amaury » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:40 pm

Both careers have about the same expected outlook for job growth (auto mechanics 17% and welders 15%) by 2020 but, auto mechanics have over twice as many available jobs.
salaries differ slightly with mechanics earning a commission for each job (auto mechanic $35,790- anywhere between $20,200 and $59,590. and welders $35,450 - anywhere between $23,940 and $53,690).
Both also, have the same educational requirements (HS diploma or equivalent), and both have a high number of self employed workers.